NHS Tayside STAR Awards winners

24th May, 2019

The winners of NHS Tayside’s Staff Appreciation and Recognition (STAR) Awards were announced at the Apex Hotel in Dundee on 23 May 2019.   The awards provide staff and the public a chance to nominate an individual, service or team for delivering outstanding patient care or going the extra mile in their job.


The ceremony was hosted by Professor Jason Leitch, National Clinical Director, Healthcare Quality and Strategy Directorate with the Scottish Government, and was attended by NHS Tayside Chairman John Brown and Chief Executive Grant Archibald. 


The winners are:


Inspiring Educator:  

  • Gold: Michael Carlin, Speech & Language Clinical Support Worker, Centre for Child Health
  • Silver: Nicola Richardson, Allied Health Professions Practice Educator and Teaching Lead
  • Bronze: Fiona Reid, Macmillan Specialist Physiotherapist, Cornhill Macmillan Centre, PRI

  Quality/Service Improvement:  

  • Gold: Amanda Kean, Senior Charge Midwife, Ward 38, Ninewells Hospital
  • Silver: UNITE Team (NICU/Ward 38/Labour Suite) Ninewells Hospital
  • Bronze: Dr Scott Jamieson, GP Prescribing Lead, Angus Health and Social Care Partnership

  Innovation in Practice:  

  • Gold: Intelligent Liver Function Testing Team
  • Silver: Dr Elizabeth Connor, Consultant Dental & Maxillofacial Radiologist, Dundee Dental Hospital
  • Bronze: AIM - Anxiety in Motion, Centre for Child Health

  Global Citizenship Award:

  • Gold: Jean Ngoie, Head of Instrumentation and Clinical Engineering, Medical Physics, Ninewells Hospital
  • Silver: Pam Wilson, Senior Charge Nurse, Out Of Hours Service
  • Bronze: Gwen Gordon, Clinical Educator, Nursing Education

  Outstanding Individual (Clinical):

  • Gold: Alexis Brain, Senior Charge Nurse, Ward 1, PRI
  • Silver: Michael Carlin, Speech & Language Clinical Support Worker, Centre for Child Health
  • Bronze: Lynn Sutherland, Occupational Therapist/Complementary Therapy Coordinator, Roxburghe House, Royal Victoria Hospital

  Outstanding Individual (Non-Clinical):

  • Gold: Fiona McGrath, Health Services Link Worker, The Corner
  • Silver: Wayne Brown, Site Manager, Ninewells Hospital
  • Bronze: Maureen Forsyth, Ward Assistant, Ward 3, PRI

  Outstanding Team:   

  • Gold: Gynaecology Team, PRI
  • Silver: Neonatal Intensive Care Unit, Ninewells Hospital
  • Bronze: Glenlaw House, Kings Cross

  Chairman’s Award:

  • Communications and Engagement Team



<< Back to Announcements