NHS Tayside STARs celebrated

23rd April, 2018

Congratulations to all the winners of NHS Tayside's Staff Apppreciation and Recognition (STAR) Awards! 

The awards ceremony took place on 19 April 2018 at the Apex Hotel in Dundee, hosted by Professor Jason Leitch, National Clinical Director, Healthcare Quality and Strategy Directorate with the Scottish Government.


NHS Tayside Chairman John Brown said, “It has been fantastic to see the hard work and dedication of NHS Tayside staff recognised at this event.  It is a great honour to be nominated by colleagues and members of the public and I would like to congratulate everyone who won an award, all of our finalists and nominees."


NHS Tayside Chief Executive Malcolm Wright said, “The people of Tayside have really embraced these awards by nominating individuals, teams and services in their hundreds and this reflects the high regard our committed staff are held in by local communities.  We know that being recognised in these awards is very much appreciated by staff and I would like to thank everyone who took the time to nominate."


The STAR Awards were delivered in partnership with Tayside Health Fund, the Academic Health Science Partnership (AHSP) in Tayside and the Apex Hotel.


The winners were:


Outstanding Individual (Clinical)

Gold: Rachel Hunt, Senior Charge Nurse, Ward 3, PRI

Silver: June Ward, Haemophilia/Anticoagulant Specialist Nurse, Ninewells

Bronze: Tara Winterton, Speech & Language Therapist, PRI


Outstanding Individual (Non Clinical)

Gold: Diane Donaldson, Clinical Radiology Group Administrator, Ninewells Hospital

Silver: Margaret McMillan, Ward Assistant, Ward 6, Ninewells Hospital

Bronze: Anne Johnston, Catering Assistant, Arbroath Infirmary


Outstanding Team

Gold: Ward 38, Ninewells

Silver: Ward 6, PRI

Bronze: Hospital at Night Team


Innovation in Practice

Gold: The Viral Hepatitis Service

Silver: Laorag Hunter, Specialist Speech and Language Therapist, Royal Victoria Hospital

Bronze: Lung Cancer Clinical Nurse Specialist Team


Inspiring Educator

Gold: Mary Malone, Paediatric Respiratory Nurse Specialist, Ninewells

Silver: Dr Sharon Robertson, Learning, Development and Governance Manager, Wallacetown Health Centre

Bronze: Sharon Slane, Organisational Development Lead, Ninewells


Quality/Service Improvement

Gold: Ann Eriksen, Executive Lead & Commissioner – Sexual Health & Blood Borne Virus

Silver: ERCP Team in Endoscopy

Bronze: Dundee Community Leg Ulcer Team

<< Back to Announcements